About Work.

I realize that there has been a lack of posts lately, but it is not without reason. School is coming to an end (in about 6 weeks) so I have a ton of projects/essays and I have also been really busy work wise. March is going to be one hell of a month!

Speaking of work, I just read this article on Exposure Compensation which gave some statistics about artists and unemployment. Here is the gist of it:

Artists are unemployed at twice the rate of professional workers, a category in which artists are grouped because of their high levels of education. The artist unemployment rate grew to 6.0 percent in the fourth quarter of 2008, compared with 3.0 percent for all professionals.

There were a few things I thought about when I read this.

First of all, how does one consider an artist to be unemployed? Artists create work for themselves, technically an artist is one of the few members of society that can never be unemployed.

Second, what exactly is 6%? I guarantee that at least 80% of people in my program will never become artists and probably will never even work seriously as photographers of any kind. To me 6% unemployment is great, it means 94% of artists are employed. That figure is really reassuring for someone who one day might be an artist (professionally). 

This blog will resume it’s regular schedual, if one ever existed, as soon as possible, but at the moment I have to get back to work.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

