The Index Card Expirement Revisited

Index Cards

At the beginning of February I decided to experiment with index cards. I wanted to use index cards as a tool to help retain information that I consumed. Two things came out of this, I realized that index cards don’t work for me as a note taking tool and I also realized that index cards are a great to-do done tool.

There are several reasons that I am abandoning index cards to take notes while reading/watching content. Mainly because I have a notebook where I write down ideas, plan out project, jot down quotes etc. What happened was that I started debating if I should write something in my notebook or on the index card. I figure if I can train myself to take notes on index cards then I can train myself to do it in a notebook. Second is that index cards are somewhat flimsy, this makes them difficult to write on if you don’t have another surface, they also become worn very quickly. Finally, index cards are small, I found that I was constantly running out of space and was numbering them 1,2,3, this seemed kinda ridiculous considering I had a notebook. I came to these conclusions fairly early in the month and started to think of other uses for index cards.

Because I work mostly from home when I’m not out on actual shoots I have to keep myself motivated and concentrated at the tasks at hand. Every morning I started to write out the things I had to finish by the end of the day aswell as a few things I could work on if I finished the mandetory stuff early. This gave me a plan for the day, it also allowed me to jump from one task to another as I grew weary of it, without forgetting or permenantly delaying it. It was great having a constant reminder beside my keyboard, rather than some app that I would have to bring up to see. There is also a great satisfaction, come the  end of the day and all of the tasks are crossed off.

All in all the experiment was a success though perhaps not as I initially intended. I will definitely be exploring more things in this experiment format which will hopefully lead to more new discoveries and habits.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “The Index Card Expirement Revisited”

  1. terrysthinking Says:

    Trying something is always an experiment. I think you made an effort and that counts for something.

    Thanks for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

